Archive for April 21st, 2012

April 21, 2012

Hair

Hello!

I hope everyone had a nice week. I’m currently trying to start a research paper -“trying” would be the key word here. It’s always hard to start a paper, but for me, once I’m done with the introduction it’s pretty smooth sailing from there. But I also really enjoy writing, so again, maybe that’s just me.

I wanted to share this cute video with you. It’s a Sesame Street original and it’s called “I Love My Hair.”

Isn’t it awesome?

I think it’s really unfortunate that girls in this country are taught that the ideal hair is straight, and for the most part, blonde. No, no, no. Speaking as someone with STICK STRAIGHT (I cannot emphasize this enough) Asian hair, I would love more than anything to have some waves!  That being said, I do love the hair that I was born with because it is thick and I think it suits me, but I am definitely envious when I see some tousled waves or an awesome fro. We need to embrace the hair that we have because all hair is beautiful, and we were born with the hair we have for a reason.

There’s nothing wrong with changing up your hair (see Nicki Minaj -she can pull off any hairdo), but I don’t like it when girls think that they need to change their hair because it doesn’t fit the norm or it’s considered by the media as “bad hair.” Embrace the hair you have because I guarantee that there are people out there who wish they had your mop! Also, if you love your hair and are confident in it, others will think the same. It’s all about having confidence in yourself.

Cheers and have a safe weekend!

your friend,
amelia